The IRS is expanding the opt-in Identity Protection Personal Identification Number (IP PIN) program to taxpayers in an additional 10 states for the 2020 filing season. This brings the availability of IP PINs to taxpayers in a total of 19 states and the District of Columbia. The opt-in program is designed for taxpayers who are not victims of identity theft or refund fraud.

For 2020, IP PINs will be available to taxpayers who previously filed in Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas and Washington.